The foolishness of humans when they seek what they desire.

I will make this short and simple. I have always wondered why humans, both men and women, are so foolish when seeking what they desire. First they desperately seek what they want. That is fine. Then when they find what they want, they desperately try to obtain it. It doesn’t matter if it’s an object or a person or something else altogether. That is still fine. But then once they get or obtain what they want, at first they treat it with care. But over time, they start to take it for granted instead of cherishing it with all their hearts as they should. After all, it is what they took so much trouble to obtain.

Then because they took it for granted for too long, they lose it. This is an inevitable result of taking something for granted. Then once they lose it, they seek it out desperately again and try to obtain it again ever so desperately. This is something I can only consider to be foolish, because in the first place they should have cherished it with all their heart and not lose it to begin with. Either that, or if they have lost it for good, they then regret for the rest of their lives. This is also foolish. Regret brings nothing. Once lost for good, what can bring it back? Nothing. In the first place, don’t lose it! Cherish it always in the first place! Why are humans so foolish that they always seek what they cannot get and if they get what they want, they take it for granted only to eventually lose it and then regret losing it? This is folly at its greatest height.

So I say, cherish what you already have with all your heart. It’s okay to seek more and try to obtain more, but once you obtain it, cherish it with all your heart and care for it well and carefully as well. Otherwise your efforts will be in vain. I for one truly can never understand the folly of humans in taking things for granted once they have it. I too am human, but I do my best to cherish what I have with all my heart and care for it as well as I can. Otherwise, if I don’t think I can manage to cherish it and care for it well enough, I will not try to obtain it in the first place. Because it is completely irresponsible to do so. Which is probably why even though I love animals, I have never taken in one as a pet, since I am not confident enough that I can cherish it and care for it well enough so that it never gets into trouble or falls sick due to my own negligence.

Only obtain what you can handle. Do not be greedy and try to obtain more than you can handle. You know yourself the best, so you should know what you can and cannot do. Act accordingly and responsibly.

Posted 3 March 2023

Last updated for missing details 22 May 2023

Leave a comment